Booking Appointments on Behalf of Others
Here are some considerations when booking appointments on behalf of a family member, dependant or other person.
Email Address Ownership
An email address is a unique identifier that links a person to their client profile. Emails in general can only be owned by 1 person, it’s not possible for 2 people to have the same email address.
If you are booking an appointment for the first time and are doing so on behalf of someone else, you should contact the business so they can set you up as a Linked Client for booking. Linked Clients is a feature that helps keep client data separated so that the person booking and the person for which the appointment is for are distinctly unique.
DO NOT use your own email address with someone else’s name when booking an appointment. Doing so will prevent you from being able to book an appointment in your own name with that email since you have assigned it to another person,
Essentially what the business will do is create a profile for the person doing the booking who will be logging in with their own email. The business will also create a profile related to the person who the appointments are being booked for. By linking the profiles, the person who is logging in and making the booking will have the choice to book for themselves or the other person (people) they are linked to. This way the appointments booked for each person remain is that person’s profile, under their own name, but can be managed by the person who made the booking or possibly both people if each have their own login under unique email addresses.
I don’t want to book on behalf of someone, I just want someone else to receive the email confirmation and reminder emails for the booking.
This scenario implies you are booking an appointment for yourself, under your own name and email address, but want to send copies of the appointment email notifications to another person or email address.
In this case you would choose the option to “Send copies of this appointment’s email notifications to others”. This option does not link the booking to anyone else, the booking is in your name, under your email address but others are in the email loop only.