Click4Time’s Blog Spot!

Keeping you in the loop with Tips & Tricks, New Features and Announcements

Emailing Your Clients

Communicating with your clients is an important part of your business. Many of you have been asking about how to send emails to all your clients.

Below we’ll walk through:

  • How to export your full client list
  • How to export a list of clients who have recently visited
  • Precautions related to data security

*Note: You will need to use an email service such as MailChimp, ConstantContact, HubSpot etc to create and send your email. We recommend MailChimp because it’s free to use for up to 2,000 contacts and 10,000 emails/month. Check out our video series on how to use MailChimp.

Exporting Full Client List

*Note: You must have Owner or Administrator permissions to access the required reports.

Go to Reports, then the Company – Owner/Administrator folder.

Select the Client Details report.

In the report options you can choose to filter the list to a specific Service Provider.

IMPORTANT! The Client Details report has several columns that you will need to delete before importing into any 3rd party software. You only want to be left with the First Name, Last Name and Email columns. 

Simply select the unwanted columns, then right click and choose “Delete”. *Note: you will need a spreadsheet app such as Microsoft Excel, Apple Numbers or OpenOffice Calc to open the file to make changes.

Exporting Recently Visited Client List

*Note: You must have Owner or Administrator permissions to access the required reports.

Go to Reports, then the Company – Owner/Administrator folder.

Select the Client Recent Visit Report.

In the report options, set how recent the client visited, can be up to 24 months. You can also choose to limit the list to visits with a specific Service Provider.

To export the list, choose the option “Export the report to CSV” from the icons in the upper left corner of the page.

Precautions

When exporting data you should be cautions about where you save the files and what you do with the files once you’re done working with them. It’s important to never leave client data exposed on your computer or devices.

  • Download each file only once into a folder on your computer that is easily located so you can easily keep track of where the files are.
  • Once you have imported the data, be sure to delete the files from your computer. Be sure to also empty your recycle/trash bin to permanently delete the file.
  • IMPORTANT! If you need to share the file with a team member, be sure to password protect the file before sending it through email or any other electronic means. To do so you will need to save the file as a .xlsx instead of .csv and follow these instructions:

Windows (Watch Video)

  1. Select File > Info.
  2. Select the Protect Workbook box and choose Encrypt with Password.
  3. Enter a password in the Password box, and then select OK.
  4. Confirm the password in the Reenter Password box, and then select OK.

Mac

  1. Select File > Passwords.
  2. Enter a password in the Password to open box, and then select OK.
  3. Confirm the password in the Reenter Password box, and then select OK.
  4. Then save the file.

If you need help or have questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us.